PDA

View Full Version : Thomas Hudson Reeves

gomek
05-25-2005, 10:22 AM
Hi my name is Mike. I've been checking out this site for a while and well I'm new to photography, maybe seven months and I am really new to the darkroom and I think it's love for real this time so I went back to Mr. Reeves (http://www.papercams.com/) site, which I had seen months ago but was too in awe of and inexperienced about to utilize, to re-consider trying to build one of his all photopaper cameras. I love the joy in his work, the thrill-seeker in it. I love how it strips away everything...

...anyways, has anyone tried it themselves? It seems pretty simple if you use the Mark II but I only count nine cuts, he says there's three more. Also without a brass plate cardboard should work, right? I plan to try it today, picking up some new paper (my waste level is pretty high even for a beginner) and I was hoping for some last minute advice.

Thanks and if I haven't mentioned it yet, this site is a great resource. Thanks for being here.

Mike

earlj
05-25-2005, 10:36 AM
I looked at this website about a year ago, and made a mental note to try the technique someday. I have yet to act on this idea. It looks like fun to me. I would try to make a good pinhole, though. I use Coke can aluminum and hobby drills to make my pinholes, and I have had good luck. I don't have any color paper around, but I think that this would be fun with black and white as well. Maybe I will even try to make a camera out of 8X10 sheet film. But how to make the outside opaque? Black spray paint in the dark? Would the anti-halation coating prevent light penetration?

gomek
05-25-2005, 02:31 PM
Mr. Hudson uses black masking tape. I figure on using his technique as closely as possible. I hadn't thought of can metal, like the bottoms? I had figured like ceral cardboard. I wanted something that I could duplicate easy for instruction sake.

Tom Persinger
05-25-2005, 04:11 PM