PDA

View Full Version : Ground glass alternatives

jml
05-25-2006, 07:57 AM
Fisrt of all, Thanks to tpersin for the ground glass tutorial. Didnt understand a word of it, but i will end up trying it some day!

But for now.. What are the alternatives to ground glass...(Steve Smith, i cant find any screen printers that will help! Yet!) I have no experience with ground glass, but i think i know what i am looking for, if my imagination is correct!

Question 1:
If i have a camera that is 6x6, and i can take the back off.. Can i use ground glass (or alt.) to compose the shot?

Question 2:
Would acetate sheet (transparency paper, or something similar) sanded do?

I tried searching but....

Thanks

Tom Persinger
05-25-2006, 09:19 AM
other people floated several fairly basic DIY ideas:

*a CD Jewel case (plexiglass would probably work too) roughed up with steel wool
* wax paper
* using the aerosol spray "frosting" on a sheet of glass
* scotch tape on plastic or glass

i'm sure there are more, these are just the ones that leap to mind...

good luck!
tp

jml
05-25-2006, 09:23 AM
Good enough for me.. Thanks tp... That should keep me going until i have something to put in front of it!

Does the thickness of the ground material matter? Cheers!

earlj
05-26-2006, 08:23 AM
I took my 8X10 camera back (purchased from eddie) to the glass shop. They are cutting me a piece of 1/8" frosted glass with the corners taken off and all the edges ground down to fit the camera back. They are going to charge me $7.00.

We will soon see if it works . . .

jml
05-26-2006, 09:05 AM
Wow, $7, thats cheap at half the price!

I might try that if i dont get a good enough result from grounding (eventually) What will you do for the grid lines on the glass if any?

murrayatuptowngallery
05-26-2006, 09:19 AM
You want LINES, too?!?

Pencil or india ink on the ground side. Pencil probably has a few advantages.