PDA

View Full Version : 1st pinhole camera

fotoshark
01-11-2006, 03:14 PM
Hello everyone; I am very new to this (online forums) and hope I am doing it properly. I want to build a pinhole camera to accomodate 4X5 film holders. I have several questions. 1- What is the ideal hole size to use? If using a material like brass, how do you drill the small hole (do bits come as small as needed?) and lastly how far does the pinhole need to be from the film plan to cover the 4X5 film area (focal length?) I've looked online for 4X5 plans but most design are fairly primitive and dont touch on specifics. I want to build my camera out of wood and have a brass plate for the pinhole. Any help or info is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Tom Persinger
01-11-2006, 04:55 PM
here you go!
http://www.popularwoodworking.com/features/fea.asp?id=1048

should cover everything you need on your first wooden camera!

knut
01-11-2006, 05:29 PM
Hi and welcome! Online forums may be a bit unfamiliar in the beginning, but you can get a lot of useful information, and it can be somewhat addictive :)

Your questions about hole size and focal length are correlated. The optimum holesize (given that you want maximum sharpness and resolution) is normally given as a function of focal length and the wavelength of the light. A lot of formulas exist, but a simple and quite usefull one is:

dh = sqrt(f)/25

where dh is hole diameter and f is focal length, both given in millimeters. In Other words; take the square root of the focal length and divide by 25.