Thread: Litho Film continuos tone problems

Litho Film continuos tone problems

I am just beginning to use Arista litho film with a metol developer, (Soemarko LC-1B, from Tom Persigerlitho1002Sm.jpg) for continuos tone, and getting very low contrast results, which do not seem to change as I make large changes in exposure. The negatives are very thin, see attached positive from a scan. I'm using an old 6.5" X 8.5" folding camera, with an old but apparently decent lens. I'm shooting at f8, exposures from 2 sec - 20 sec.

My darkroom has one red safelight, but the pattern of a raised "X", from the bottom of the developer tray, shows up in the images!! Do I need a different safelight?

I also hope to use the litho film for large pinholes.

Any thoughts will be appreciated.

Bruce Marsh

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
    Blog Entries
    What film speed rating are you using to meter the exposure? What development time are you using? How close to the tray is your safe light? Make sure that you soak the film in plain water before it goes into the developer. If you are exposing sufficiently, you should be able to get good density with longer development times. If extended development does not give you density, then you need more exposure. My rule of thumb is to time the full appearance of the image, and then multiply by four for the total development time. Developing by inspection is tricky - it is easy to pull it out too soon.
    because:
    "a squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous, got me?"
    -Don Van Vliet