Thread: Mamiya 6x7 pinhole ideas

Mamiya 6x7 pinhole ideas

Hi Everyone,

I am new here. I have been reading the forum for a few weeks now. Some great stuff. I have been photographing for nearly 45 years. My best friend and I had a darkroom together when we were teenagers. We still get together every year and take photos. I started thinking about a Christmas present (now birthday present ) for him and thought I would make him a pinhole camera. We played with pinholes many many years ago...used photo paper and Quaker oatmeal boxes. Got some OK shots. We both started shooting digital a few years ago, but we still both miss film. I thought a pinhole would give him a new technique to use in his craft.

I have bought a pair of Mamiya 220 pro 67 backs (I am going to build my own pinhole too!)...I like the idea of a well behaved film transport. I am working out all the interlocks...still waiting for some 120 film in the mail to run a roll through and see what does what. Still trying to nail down what tells the back to allow the film to advance a frame. Can anyone tell me any details on how a Mamiya back works exactly? I suspect the release is the center shaft of the advance drive post that extends toward the camera.

I also bought some 0.2mm pinholes (was planning on buying from Earl, but got impatient getting access on here and just grabbed some on e-bay). Thinking about a 25 to 30 mm focal length. I have done some rough calculations and it seems a manual shutter might work...thinking 100 ASA (ISO) film. Am I correct or do I need to try and get some type of faster shutter.

Also, if I do go to a manual shutter, any recommendation on what the best (most robust) design types are?

I also plan on making the pinhole able to rise and fall...like the idea of being able to get some perspective control.

Anyways, those are my thoughts but I would love some feedback from some of you folks who have built these already.

Thanks for reading!

Jeff

500+ Posts
    Hi and welcome here!