Thread: paper negative thoughts

paper negative thoughts

Waiting for the weather to change and some warming happening, I got to reminiscing about my experience with paper negatives. Early in 1959 while starting a new job in photography Iíd tried to make a Ēfine artĒ picture by setting up some props and photographing them with a newly acquired 4X5 Graphic camera. There was a lacy edged table cloth draped over an ornate picture frame with a pitcher and cup in the fore ground.
    Being a novice I hadnít thought about smoothing out any creases or folds in the cloth so when later printing the ďfine artĒ picture found all the afore mentioned folds to appear unsightly and was disappointed. A more knowledgeable associate asked if Iíd like to try a paper negative technique to save the picture and of course I did (not having a clue of what he was talking about).He had me print an 11X14 print and darken any light areas with a soft pencil then contact print it and darken any light areas again and finally contact print this paper negative resulting in a print without the offending creases etc. but it now resembled a charcoal drawing. This was my only experience with a paper negative till many years later. Spring forward to 1996 after traveling to Colorado with some friends to see the aspen trees turning in September and finding we were a week late as most of the trees had dropped their leaves. We stumbled upon a beautiful tree still glowing with itís golden leaves in the little town of Como and I had to capture it on film, 35 mm color transparency slides. After processing and mounting the film I found that although the tree and itís immediate surrounds looked good there was a suburban neighborhood with power lines and a lot of clutter behind it. Worrying about this picture off and on for a year or so, it came to me that I could enlarge the slide up to an 8X10 paper negative (the largest paper I had at the time) and block out the unwanted areas with pencil , magic marker and op