Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: getting started (hopefully0

getting started (hopefully0

I'm new to this but I've just drilled a hole in a SLR body cap & taped some kitchen foil over it & put a hole through it with a needle. When I look through the viewfinder none of the image is in focus. What do I do now?

Hi Doc:

It's probably also very hard to see with the small amount of light getting thru.

Assuming the aperture you made is reasonably close to the right size for the distance it is located from the film, estimate it's size and divide it into the distance from aperture to film plane. Say, for example, you have a 1/4 mm hole at 45 mm spacing. 45/(1/) = f/180.

You can estimate exposure based on this. If you end up with times longer than 1 second some lengthening of exposure may be needed to correct for film reciprocity failure at long exposure.

If you have a 'reasonable' geometry of construction, just proceed...don't worry too much about what you can see thru the viewfinder...it's only good for aiming. Keep in mind with an SLR that bright light can enter the eyepiece of the viewfinder and go thru the pentaprism to the film. Cover if exposed to bright light. I've never had a problem with it but it IS there.

Go ahead and shoot some film if you are open to experimentation and won't be discouraged by a need to make adjustments and retry.

If you prefer to have more variables eliminated (as I do) before proceeding, come back with more info on your camera geometry, film type, etc and we'll help you pre-determine if you are on track or off track.

Murray

murray has pretty much covered it, but i would add that aluminum foil doesn't make for very good or stable pinholes, unless you use the heavier gauge stuff from pie plates, etc. brass shim stock will give you a stronger metal at thinner dimensions, and can be found in almost any auto or hardware store. you can sand the hole even thinner and it won't tear as easily.